Skip to main content

Syracuse accepts bid to New Era Pinstripe Bowl

7-5 Orange will make school's second Pinstripe appearance at Yankee Stadium 12/02/2012
Syracuse University of the Big East Conference today accepted an invitation to play in the 2012 New Era Pinstripe Bowl, scheduled for Saturday, December 29, 2012 at Yankee Stadium. An announcement regarding their opponent from the Big 12 Conference will be made later today. A press conference with New Era Pinstripe Bowl participants and officials will be held on Wednesday, December 5 at 11:00 a.m. at Yankee Stadium. Further details will be provided in the near future.

This year marks the third annual bowl game at Yankee Stadium. For Syracuse, it will be their second appearance in the bowl, having defeated the Kansas State Wildcats, 36-34, in the inaugural New Era Pinstripe Bowl at Yankee Stadium in 2010. In that contest, running back Delone Carter earned New Era Pinstripe Bowl Most Valuable Player honors after rushing for a career-high 198 yards on 27 carries and scoring two touchdowns, while receiver Marcus Sales caught five passes for 172 yards and three touchdowns. Quarterback Ryan Nassib completed 13-of-21 passes for 239 yards and three touchdowns.

Last year, Rutgers University defeated Iowa State, 27-13.

Syracuse is led by Head Coach Doug Marrone, a graduate of Herbert H. Lehman High School in the Bronx, who also served as New York Jets offensive line coach from 2002-05. His maternal grandfather, Robert Thompson, worked as an usher at the original Yankee Stadium for nearly 20 years.

"We are thrilled to be invited to the New Era Pinstripe Bowl for the second time in three years," Marrone said. "It means a great deal to us to play a bowl game in Yankee Stadium where many of our alumni and fans will have the opportunity to share it with us. New York State is the foundation of our program. I am proud of this team for the way it fought through early-season adversity to win five of the last six games and win a share of the Big East championship. It is great for our team, and particularly our seniors, to have the chance to play one more game. This senior class has given so much to our program on and off the field and will be great ambassadors for our program and the University."

The 2012 Orange finished the season winning five of its last six games and won a share of the Big East championship. Syracuse has a 13-9-1 bowl record, going 1-0 under third-year head coach Doug Marrone.

The 2012 New Era Pinstripe Bowl will mark the eighth time the Orange will play a college football game at the home of the Yankees. The Orange were participants in the first-ever college football game at the original Yankee Stadium, defeating Pittsburgh, 3-0, on October 20, 1923.

    Syracuse Football at Yankee Stadium
  • Oct. 20, 1923 Syracuse 3, Pittsburgh 0
  • Oct. 12, 1940 Syracuse 47, NYU 13
  • Oct. 18, 1941 Syracuse 31, NYU 0
  • Nov. 5, 1960 Army 9, Syracuse 6
  • Nov. 28, 1963 Syracuse 14, Notre Dame 7
  • Nov. 7, 1964 Syracuse 27, Army 15
  • Dec. 30, 2010 Syracuse 36, Kansas State 34 - at the current Yankee Stadium

"We are excited to welcome back Syracuse University to the New Era Pinstripe Bowl," said Mark Holtzman, Yankees Executive Director of the New Era Pinstripe Bowl. "Their victory in the inaugural New Era Pinstripe Bowl was an unforgettable experience for everyone involved. Their student athletes, alumni and legion of loyal fans will once again get to take part in an exhilarating bowl week during the New York City holiday season."

Tickets for the New Era Pinstripe Bowl are currently available at, the official Web site of the New Era Pinstripe Bowl, where fans can access up-to-the-moment information regarding the game and sign up to volunteer.

Kickoff for the New Era Pinstripe Bowl is scheduled for 3:15 p.m. ET on Saturday, December 29. The game will be nationally televised by ESPN, which has also secured national and local radio rights for ESPN Radio. There is a four-year agreement, extending through 2013, for the Big East and Big 12 to participate in the New Era Pinstripe Bowl at Yankee Stadium.

The New Era Pinstripe Bowl week of festivities will begin on Wednesday, December 26 with players, coaches and university staff taking part in a variety of events in the days leading up to the game, showcasing their respective universities to the New York metropolitan area. Special events, promotions and community outreach will take place throughout New York City during the week of the bowl game to once again create an unforgettable experience for fans, families, players and staffs of the two teams.

In conjunction with the New Era Pinstripe Bowl, Yankee Stadium will host the 2012 PSAL Football Championship Game on Tuesday, December 4 at 5:00 p.m., pitting Erasmus Hall (Brooklyn) vs. Tottenville (Staten Island) for the city championship. This will mark the third consecutive year that the league's title game will be held in Yankee Stadium. In addition, the 2012 MVP Scholar Athletes from each of the five boroughs of New York City will be recognized on field during the New Era Pinstripe Bowl.

In addition to the annual New Era Pinstripe Bowl, the current Yankee Stadium has played host to the two other college football games. In 2010, Notre Dame and Army reunited their historic rivalry in the Bronx with a 27-3 Fighting Irish victory, and in 2011, Rutgers defeated Army, 27-12, as the two teams met at the home of the Yankees for the first time since 1948. Last month, it was announced that Yankee Stadium would be the host for the 150th meeting between Lafayette College and Lehigh University on November 22, 2014. Additionally in 2014, Army will host Boston College at Yankee Stadium.

Prior to the inception of the New Era Pinstripe Bowl in 2010, the last college football bowl game had been played in the Bronx in 1962 when Nebraska edged Miami (Fla.), 36-34, in the Gotham Bowl at the original Yankee Stadium.

The original Yankee Stadium played host to a number of college football games from the year it opened in 1923, including New York University and Fordham home games and the two schools' annual matchup. From 1925-46, and again in 1969, the annual Notre Dame-Army football game took place at Yankee Stadium, including the memorable "win one for the Gipper" matchup in 1928, and the 1946 contest which ended in a scoreless tie and featured four Heisman Trophy winners (Doc Blanchard, Glenn Davis, Johnny Lujack and Leon Hart). From 1968-73 and '76-87, Grambling played a series of home games at Yankee Stadium, known as the Whitney M. Young Urban Classic.

Back to News Index »